DUI & DWI Charges
New Jersey has some the strictest traffic laws in the United States, and those laws can result in fines, court costs, surcharges and penalties. License suspensions can be imposed with almost any ticket, and many citizens lose their driver licenses because they can’t afford to dig out from under the excessive and outrageous financial hole of fines and surcharges.
When it comes to Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Driving Under the Influence (DUI), and Refusal to Submit to a Test, police are aggressive and the penalties if convicted are severe. Penalties such as jail, license suspension, fines, surcharges, attendance at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center classes, installation of Ignition Interlock Devices, mandatory surcharge of $3,000.00, and other consequences make it important that you hire an attorney with the experience and skills to get you the best possible result.
A first time DWI conviction can result in jail of up to 30 days for a first offense, 90 days for a second offense, and a mandatory 180 days for a third offense. Penalties depend on the level of your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), and vary based upon levels of .08-.10; .10-.149, and .15 and above. These BAC levels can be proven by breath, blood or urine testing.
Penalties are worse if convicted of a DWI/DUI in a school zone (even if the school is closed), if you are in an accident, if injuries are sustained in the accident, etc. A DWI/DUI can remain on your record for prospective employers, creditors and others to find during background checks. It will result in an increase of your insurance premiums.
A person under the age of 21 can be found guilty of DWI with any detectible amount of alcohol in his/her blood while behind the wheel of a car.
There are hundreds of laws regulating motor vehicle ownership and operation, and most of them have some consequences. In New Jersey, even hitching a horse to a pole, post or tree is unlawful. Here is a short list of traffic offenses that have serious penalties:
- Reckless Driving;
- Careless Driving;
- Driving While License is Suspended or Revoked;
- Driving Without Insurance;
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident;
- Failure to Report an Accident;
- Failing to Yield the Right of Way;
- Going Through a Red Light or Stop Sign.
It is important that you hire an experienced and well qualified criminal defense attorney to represent you if you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated or related drunk driving or traffic offenses in New Jersey. For more than 30 years Nugent Law has obtained the best possible results for their clients.
Call Now — We Are Here To Assist You
If you’ve been charged with DWI, DUI, or any traffic offense, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you. At Nugent law, we can help you understand the charges and get you the best result possible. To set up your free consultation please call us at 856-596-9770 or contact our firm online. If you cannot meet during regular office hours, we can arrange an evening or weekend appointment by special request. Our firm also accepts all major credit cards for your convenience.