Over the past several years, the number of deaths related to the use of heroin have skyrocketed throughout the nation. New Jersey is no exception. Every state has laws that prohibit the possession and sale of illegal narcotics, but New Jersey has addressed the possession and sale of heroin specifically as part of its drug crimes law.
The use and sale of heroin is regarded as both a state and federal crime, and the potential federal punishments increase in severity with each subsequent charge. A first time offender is fined a minimum $1,000. She or he may also be given a 52 week sentence in jail. If a person is convicted a second time, the resulting penalty is approximately $2,500 and a sentence of up to 24 months in jail. A third conviction results in a penalty of a minimum of three months and up to 36 months in jail and a $5,000 fine.
New Jersey laws prohibit the possession, trafficking and sales of all illegal substances, including heroin. A first time conviction could result in a sentence of up to five years, as the state classifies this charge as a third class felony. If one is convicted of sales of this drug in a public space such as a park or in a government housing project, then the punishments increase in severity.
This particular substance has only become more prevalent in the country, and it seems no one class or type of person is immune from getting caught up in it. However, not only is this drug extremely dangerous, the possession or sale of it can lead to life-altering consequences. If one finds him or herself facing this type of charge, then the assistance of a criminal defense attorney who is experienced in fighting these types of drug crimes accusations is invaluable as a conviction on one's record can be more costly than the monetary fines involved.
Source: FindLaw, "New Jersey Heroin Laws", Accessed on Jan. 19, 2017