Frequently Asked Questions

Individuals who have suffered an injury have a great many questions and concerns about how they can receive financial compensation to help them recover. In this section, we attempt to answer some of the most pertinent and pressing queries that individuals and their families tend to ask.

Am I Eligible?

Individuals are able to file personal injury claims if they have endured an injury as a result of someone else's carelessness, recklessness or negligence. The injury may occur at any place and by any means — whether in a car accident, or by slipping on a wet floor in an office building.

What If I'm Partly To Blame?

In New Jersey, individuals can receive compensation even if they are partly responsible for their injuries. The courts aim to settle such matters proportionally. If, for example, your damages add up to $100,000, but you are found to be 10 percent responsible for your injuries, your claim will be reduced by that 10 percent (that is, you will receive $90,000).

How Long Do I Have To File?

In most situations, injured persons in New Jersey have two years to file a lawsuit against the responsible party. This is extremely important to keep in mind, as if you fail to bring your lawsuit within the proper timeframe, the courts will likely refuse to hear your case.

Minors, with the exception of birth injuries, may file personal injury lawsuits until two years after their 18th birthday. Claims against government institutions must often be brought within 90 days.

How Much Is My Case Worth?

The value of an injury claim varies from case to case. It hinges not only on the severity of the injury itself, but also the strength of the evidence establishing the liability of the party at fault — the details matter greatly. Generally speaking, however, a claim's worth is based on a few key considerations:

  • Past and future medical bills
  • Lost wages and lost earning capacity
  • Pain and suffering

What Role Do Insurance Companies Play?

Insurers are typically the parties that actually pay a personal injury claim. It is in their interest to pay as little as possible. As such, they frequently undertake to dispute victims' claims and underpay settlements. Insurers will examine every aspect of an injury claim for weaknesses and inconsistencies, and even use social media and private investigators to keep track of victims' activities.

How Can An Attorney Help?

An experienced attorney will guide you through the process of filing your claim and, most importantly, help to maximize your recovery. A knowledgeable lawyer will be able to determine the amount to which you are entitled, and will not settle with an insurance company for less. Obtaining the funds you need to recover is essential, and an attorney is crucial to this effort.

Nugent Law Can Help

At Nugent Law, we have more than 30 years of experience helping individuals in Burlington County and Camden County with their personal injury claims — we have recovered millions of dollars on behalf of our clients.

If you would like to speak with a lawyer about your case, please reach out to us. We offer free initial assessments, allowing us to inform you of your options before you are obliged to pay. Call our firm at 856-267-3025 or schedule a consultation online. We are always ready to assist.